Department of Sociology Staff

Name
Contact Details
Role
Specialisation
Prof Pragna RugunananPragna Rugunanan

prugunanan@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 4020

C Ring 634

(HOD) Professor
Migration;
Sociology of Work;
Family and Well-Being;
Gender & Education Studies
Prof Patrick BondPatrick Bond Uj 2022 (1)

pbond@uj.ac.za

+27 (011) 559 4555

Professor
Political Economy;
Political ecology;
Social Mobilisation
Prof Ashwin Desai

agdesai@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2474

C Ring 627B

Professor
Sociology of Sport;
Social Identity;
Social Movements

Prof Kammila Naidoo

kammilan@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2883

B Ring 516

Professor and Executive Dean
Family, Sexuality & Reproduction;
Gender; Poverty & Inequality
Prof Ingrid Palmary

ipalmary@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2975

C Ring 628

Professor
Gender;
Violence;
Issues of Displacement;
Sexuality
Prof Tina UysUjdml Rxomhec70xo0fzwsiycs Small

tuys@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2885

C Ring 631

Professor
Clinical Sociology;
Whistleblowing
Corruption;
South African Sociology
Prof Kezia Batisai

keziab@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 3438

C Ring 628A

Associate Professor
Gender;
Sexuality;
Political Change;
Questions of Being Different​​​
Prof Tapiwa ChagondaUjdml X0wcbfb0ayw0h4lfkokf Small

tchagonda@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 3827

C Ring 635

Associate Professor and the Director of the Centre of Ethics
Trade Unions;
Masculinities;
The Globalization of Work;
Zimbabwe’s Socio-Economic and Socio-Political Situation
Prof Nthabiseng MotsemmeUjdml Bw4ns6kdjfgzcohjufma Small (1)

nmotsemme@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 9000

Associate Professor
African Feminism;
Women’s Subjectivities,
Identities & Cultures of Survival;
Death & Healing;
Memories
Prof Carin Runciman

crunciman@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 1918

House 5, Research Village (APB), C Ring 614 (APK)

Associate Professor and Director of the Centre of Social Change
Social Movements;
Protests;
Precarious Work;
Working-Class Politics;
South African Politics;
Electoral Politics
Prof Melanie SamsonUjdml Agcjwa5vepshoyo8oukk Small

melanies@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2979

Associate Professor
Waste Pickers in South Africa;
Precarious Labour
Prof Luke Sinwell

lsinwell@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 4268

C Ring 6

Associate Professor
Popular Protest,
Radical Theories & Practices of Participatory Governance in South Africa
Prof Malehoko TshoaediUjdml Yghwadkbjrekedvxsa3g Small (1)

mtshoaedi@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2884

C Ring 627

Associate Professor
Industrial Sociology and Gender Studies;
Labour Movements;
Women and Trade Union Activism
Dr David Du ToitDavid Du Toit Copy

daviddt@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2882

C Ring 632A

Senior Lecturer
Domestic and Care work,
Outsourcing,
Labour Relations;
Family Dynamics
Dr Siphelo NgcwanguUjdml 1gaufhjmebzo0pzqfphi Small (1)

siphelon@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 3706

C Ring 629

Senior Lecturer
Sociology of Work;
Skills Development;
Political Economy;
Trade Unions;
Education
Dr Trevor NgwaneUjdml Rb13nyblulqaodudy4tw Small (1)

tngwane@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 4453

C Ring 614

Senior Lecturer and the Director of the Centre of Social Research and Practice
Social Movements & Protests;
Labour and the Fourth Industrial Revolution;
Labour and Post-Capitalist Alternatives
Dr Letitia Smuts

lsmuts@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2071

C Ring 627A

Senior Lecturer
Gender,
Sexuality;
Heteronormativity;
Intersectionality
Mr Lerato KgosiemangUjdml K4dnxvhaflafmyg5jaxk Small (1)

lkgosiemang@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2879

C Ring 627

Lecturer
Race and Racism;
Student Politics; Higher Education;
Transformation
Decolonisation
Dr Muhammed SulemanMuhammed Suleman

muhammeds@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 3466

C Ring 632

Lecturer
Religion;
Crime and Violence;
Deviance;
Clinical Sociology;
Sport
Ms Ragi BashongaUjdml Ienteemctnlirrajmapw Small (1)

ragib@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2879

NGap Lecturer
Migration & Diaspora Studies;
Inequality; Youth Studies; Gender;
Politics of Identity;
Creative Methodologies
Ms Boni MokoneUjdml Xzh6dv33ae2778q8qsvs Small

bonisiwem@uj.ac.za

+27 (0)11 559 2879

C Ring 633A

Departmental Administer