Department of Communication and Media Academic Staff

NameSpecialisation
Shanade (1)

Prof. S. Barnabas

Associate Prof and Head of Department

B-Ring 633, APK
+27 011 559 4918

sbbarnabas@uj.ac.za

Culture, Indigeneity, heritage, communication, and media.
Sifiso

Dr. S. Mnisi

Senior Lecturer and Head of School

APK
+27 011 559 4527

sifisoz@uj.ac.za

Communication and media
Photo Nicole

Prof. N Stremlau

Research Professor

B ring 604, APK
+27 011 559 7242

nstremlau@uj.ac.za

Research and media
Chiumbu Sarah

Prof. S. Chiumbu

Associate Professor

B Ring 604A, APK
+27 (0) 11 559 2809

sarahc@uj.ac.za

Research, Journalism, media and communication 
E Rossouw Picture For Website

Dr. E. Rossouw

Senior Lecturer

B Ring 607A , APK
+27 011 559 3434

erossouw@uj.ac.za

Journalism, media and communication
Picture Prof Rodny Gumede

Prof Y. Rodny-Gumede

Associate Professor and Senior Director: Division for Internatiobalisation

International House: Madibeng
+27 011 559 4446

yrodny-gumede@uj.ac.za

Research, communication, journalism, policies, marketing
Prof Jane Duncan
Prof Jane Duncan

Prof. J. Duncan

Professor

B Ring 629, APK
+27 (0) 11 559 3776

jduncan@uj.ac.za

Media and communication policy: Media diversity, ICT policy, communications surveillance and privacy.
Dr Varona Sathiyah

Dr. V. Sathiyah

Lecturer

B Ring 628, APK
+27 011 559 2743

varonas@uj.ac.za

Communication, media and cultural studies

Prof. M. Burger

Associate Professor

B Ring 631, APK
+27 011 559 2125

mburger@uj.ac.za

Research, communications and media
Ms Shelley Barry

Miss S. Barry

Lecturer

B5 Building-Studio, APK
+27 011 559 2664

sbarry@uj.ac.za

Documentary, film and television

Dr. A. Hoffman

Lecturer

B Ring 632, APK
+27 (0) 11 559 2808

Communication and media

Department of Communication and Media Contract Lecturers

NameTelephone NumberOffice NumberRoleCampus
Miss Sylvia Vollenhoven011 559 7253B Ring 603Professor of PracticeAPK
Dr. Allen Munoriyarwa011 559 4112B Ring 604Temporary LecturerAPK

Department of Communication and Media Administrative Staff

NameTelephone NumberOffice NumberRoleCampus
Miss Thembile Gumbi011 559 4526B Ring 6Departmental SecretaryAPK
Mr Enoch Mabona011 559 3290B5 Building Studio – 166Studio ManagerAPK
Mr Lungelo Gumede011 559 3239B5 Building Studio – 175Assistant Studio ManagerAPK
NameTelephone NumberOffice NumberRoleCampus
Mr Mafa Sikhafungana011 559 2664B5 Building StudioGeneral AssistantAPK