Home » Alumni » UJ Convocation » Notice

Uj Logo

Call for nominations to serve on the Executive Committee of UJ Convocation 2024

A vacancy currently exists on the Executive Committee of Convocation.

UJ Convocation members are invited to nominate
one member of the UJ Convocation to form part of the
Executive Committee of Convocation (“the Executive Committee”).

It is strongly recommended that nominees have a minimum of five years of experience in a senior management position in the corporate sector/business environment or academia. They should also have access to extensive networks that could assist in enhancing the profile or stature of the University.

Only online nominations will be accepted.
The online nomination form outlines the following:

  • The Membership of the Convocation
  • The Role of the Executive Committee
  • The Eligibility Criteria for Membership of the Executive Committee
  • The Terms of office for the Members of the Executive Committee
  • The Conditions for Nominations

Nominations open: 14 February 2024

Nominations close: 6 March 2024 at 23:59

Follow this link to access the nomination form:

Nomination Form UJ Convocation



Prof Bettine Van Vuuren
University of Johannesburg



Notice of Resignation, new Convocation ExCo Deputy President, and filling of vacancy on the UJ Convocation ExCo


Dear UJ Convocation Members,

This serves to inform you that Prof Boitumelo Diale has resigned from the Executive Committee of the Convocation (ExCo). As such, the position of Deputy-President became vacant. Following a nomination and voting process, Ms Nondumiso Precious-Gift Mvubu was duly elected as the new Deputy President of Convocation.


The current composition of the UJ Convocation Exco is as follows:


Mr Leslie Majaha Mpunzi (External) – President, Member of Council

Ms Nondumiso Precious-Gift Mvubu (External) – Deputy President, Member of Council

Mr Khutso Ephriam Rammutla (Internal) – Member of ExCo

Mr Nakedi Macdonald Magoro (Internal) – Member of ExCo

Member of ExCo – Vacant

Prof Letlhokwa Mpedi – Vice-Chancellor and Member of ExCo

Prof Bettine van Vuuren – Registrar and Member of ExCo

Mr Nell Ledwaba – Senior Manager responsible for Alumni and Member of ExCo


With the appointment of Ms Mvubu as Deputy President, a vacant position for a Member of ExCo now exists. Further details on the process for filling this position will be communicated to you in due course.

We extend our appreciation to Prof Boitumelo Diale for her dedicated service over many years and welcome Ms Nondumiso Precious-Gift Mvubu to her new role.




Bettine van Vuuren (Prof)


University of Johannesburg



Dear UJ Member of Convocation,

The Convocation is a legally constituted body which includes alumni, current and retired academics of the University of Johannesburg (UJ) and its legacy institutions. The UJ’s Convocation structures are regulated by the provisions of the University Statute and the Institutional Rules of the University.

In preparation for the forthcoming election for new members of the Executive Committee of Convocation, it is essential that all members update their contact details, particularly their cell phone number and email address, on the University of Johannesburg’s databases prior to the start of the election.
Please note that failure to update your contact details may jeopardise your ability to participate in the nomination and voting process.

Convocants are therefore requested to update their contact details here.
Information regarding the nomination and voting process will be communicated to them in due course.


Prof Bettine Van Vuuren
University of Johannesburg

UJ Faculties

| All Faculties

College of Business and Economics (CBE)

Created from the former Faculties of Management, and Economic and Financial Sciences


Faculty of Art, Design And Architecture

Industry-relevant and competitive professional programmes


Faculty of Education

Education has the power to transform human lives


Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

First in South Africa offering a full range of professional engineering qualifications


Faculty of Health Sciences

A preferred learner experience and innovative methods


Faculty of Humanities

To the benefit of individuals, the University and the community we serve


Faculty of Law

Traditional, specialised and short course Law programmes


Faculty of Science

Innovatively creating new knowledge and leading scientists


Johannesburg Business School

JBS. The Business of Reimagining Your Future.