Convocation Elections

Home » Alumni » UJ Convocation » Convocation Elections

Call for nominations to serve on the Executive Committee of UJ Convocation 2024

A vacancy currently exists on the Executive Committee of Convocation.

UJ Convocation members are invited to nominate
one member of the UJ Convocation to form part of the
Executive Committee of Convocation (“the Executive Committee”).

It is strongly recommended that nominees have a minimum of five years of experience in a senior management position in the corporate sector/business environment or academia. They should also have access to extensive networks that could assist in enhancing the profile or stature of the University.

Only online nominations will be accepted.
The online nomination form outlines the following:

  • The Membership of the Convocation
  • The Role of the Executive Committee
  • The Eligibility Criteria for Membership of the Executive Committee
  • The Terms of office for the Members of the Executive Committee
  • The Conditions for Nominations

Nominations open: 14 February 2024

Nominations close: 6 March 2024 at 23:59

Follow this link to access the nomination form:

Nomination Form UJ Convocation



Prof Bettine Van Vuuren
University of Johannesburg



Appointment of Executive Committee of Convocation

The election of the Executive Committee of Convocation (Exco) has been concluded. UJ is pleased to announce the results and to formally introduce the new Exco.

The Exco consists of the President, the Deputy President, three additional convocation members, and the two representatives of the Convocation on Council, if not already elected as members of Exco. A candidate is regarded as ‘external’ if neither a registered student at the University of Johannesburg nor in the employ of the University of Johannesburg. Please note that should the external status of the two representatives on Council change during their term of office, they would forfeit their representation on UJ Council but would retain their position on the Executive Committee of UJ Convocation.

The table below reflects the designations and terms of office of the Executive Committee of Convocation. Click here to view the abridged CV’s of the candidates.


CandidatePosition Term of Office

Mr Leslie Majaha Mpunzi





Member of Council


15 September 2022 to
14 September 2025


15 September 2022 to
14 September 2025


Nondumiso Precious-Gift Mvubu


Deputy President


Member of Council



1 December 2021 to
30 November 2024


1 December 2022 to
30 November 2024






Member of Exco



Khutso Ephriam Rammutla


Member of Exco


15 September 2022 to
14 September 2025


Nakedi Macdonald Magoro


Member of Exco


15 September 2022 to
14 September 2025



UJ wishes to express our sincere appreciation to the outgoing members of Exco: for their excellent leadership, for the projects that they have initiated and implemented, and for their significant contribution in rebuilding the reputation and trust in the Exco and in the UJ Convocation.


Professor Bettine Van Vuuren 


University of Johannesburg

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Who is eligible to vote for the vacant positions on the Executive Committee of Convocation 2022?

All members of Convocation. Membership of the Convocation consists of: Alumni (diplomates and graduates of formal subsidised qualifications) from the University of Johannesburg, the former Rand Afrikaans University and the former Technikon Witwatersrand; the Vice-Chancellor and Principal; Deputy Vice Chancellors; the Registrar and other members of the Management Executive Committee of UJ; permanent academic employees of UJ and/or retired permanent academic employees of UJ.

How do I cast my vote?

Please refer to the Step by Step Guide url:

Who should I contact if I am unable to access the voting system?

For enquiries email:, during office hours. Closing date for enquiries: 19 August 2022 before 14h30.

Can I vote for more than one candidate?

You are allowed to cast five different votes for the candidate(s) of your choice.

When is the closing date for voting?

21 August 2022 at 23h59.

What is my login details?

A unique voter number will be sent via email. You will be required to create your own password. This information must be kept confidential. Please note your password is case sensitive.

How many attempts to login?

You will be afforded one opportunity to login and cast your vote. Should you experience any challenges, email for assistance.

How do I login to the electronic voting system?

The electronic voting system makes provision for a one-time password to be sent to the email address on record. This information is sent with the electroinc voting system link.

Can I update my details during the voting process?

Yes, you will be allowed to update your details during the election however you will not be allowed to participate as a voter in the current election.

UJ Faculties

| All Faculties

College of Business and Economics (CBE)

Created from the former Faculties of Management, and Economic and Financial Sciences


Faculty of Art, Design And Architecture

Industry-relevant and competitive professional programmes


Faculty of Education

Education has the power to transform human lives


Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

First in South Africa offering a full range of professional engineering qualifications


Faculty of Health Sciences

A preferred learner experience and innovative methods


Faculty of Humanities

To the benefit of individuals, the University and the community we serve


Faculty of Law

Traditional, specialised and short course Law programmes


Faculty of Science

Innovatively creating new knowledge and leading scientists


Johannesburg Business School

JBS. The Business of Reimagining Your Future.