Department of Education and Curriculum Studies


Education-banner-1.jpg
Skip Navigation LinksHome Faculties Faculty of Education Department of Education and Curriculum Studies


​​​Department of Education and Curriculum Studies

The Department of Education and Curriculum Studies at the University of Johannesburg offers teaching and supervision for undergraduate and post graduate study in a wide range of areas, fulfilling a pivotal role in the Initial Teacher Education (ITE/pre-service) and the continuous professional development of teachers (CPTD/in-service). Its programmes are designed for both novice and mid-career professionals who are interested in developing deeper conceptual understanding of educational issues and who aspire to become teachers. 

Students in the programmes represent diverse nationalities, academic interests and professional backgrounds. A significant number are undergraduate South African students and citizens of SADC and other countries in Africa. Current and recent graduates include policy analysts, adult educators, fieldworkers in democracy and human rights education and leaders from both the national and provincial education departments. 

Teaching and supervision is currently offered in the following fields:


Curriculum Studies 
Co-ordinator: Prof. Maropeng Modiba
Email: mmodiba@uj.ac.za
Programme: BEd Honours in Curriculum Studies

Philosophy of Education
Co-ordinator: Prof Joseph Divala 
Email: jdivala@uj.ac.za

Language and Literacy Education 
Co-ordinator:  ​Prof Leila Kajee
Email: lkajee@uj.ac.za
Programme: BEd Hons in Education Language Literacies and Literature

Learning Area and Subject Methodology 
Co-ordinator: Dr Nazreen Dasoo
Email: ndasoo@uj.ac.za

Adult and Higher Education
Co-ordinator: Dr Karen Steenkamp 
Email: karens@uj.ac.za

Sociology of Education
Co-ordinator: Prof Devika Naidoo 
Email: devikan@uj.ac.za

Values Education 
Co-ordinator: Dr Nazreen Dasoo
Email: ndasoo@uj.ac.za