The Science Education Unit

Home » Faculties of Education » Departments » Science and Technology Education​ » The Four Units – About Us » The Science Education Unit

The Science Education Unit is at the forefront of cutting-edge research on inquiry-based learning, nature of science, culturally-embedded teaching, and advanced learning technologies such as virtual and augmented reality. In relating teaching practices to this research, we offer dynamic programmes in the BEd, BEdHons, MEd and PhD qualifications. These programmes offer students opportunities to become keystone science educators and researchers. The pioneering work of Prof Umesh Ramnarain (NRF B-rated), who is an internationally acclaimed academic has ensured that the unit continues to play an influential role in driving innovation in science education. The rest of the unit is made up of Dr Sam Ramaila (unit coordinator), Dr Lydia Mavuru, Dr Thasmai Dhurumraj, Ms Noluthando Mdlalose and Ms Koketso Pila.

UJ Faculties

| All Faculties

College of Business and Economics (CBE)

Created from the former Faculties of Management, and Economic and Financial Sciences


Faculty Of Art, Design And Architecture

Industry-relevant and competitive professional programmes


Faculty of Education

Education has the power to transform human lives


Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

First in South Africa offering a full range of professional engineering qualifications


Faculty of Health Sciences

A preferred learner experience and innovative methods


Faculty of Humanities

To the benefit of individuals, the University and the community we serve


Faculty of Law

Traditional, specialised and short course Law programmes


Faculty of Science

Innovatively creating new knowledge and leading scientists


Johannesburg Business School

JBS. Opening a digital world of opportunities.