The Multilingual Language Services Office coordinates and manages free language editing, translation, and interpreting services within an academic, management and administrative context. These services are limited to the official languages of the University, namely English, IsiZulu, Afrikaans and Sesotho sa Leboa. We build Sesotho sa Leboa and IsiZulu terminology databases and authenticate this through our collaboration with other universities and language interest bodies/organisations. This is our attempt to develop these indigenous languages to the level of operation enjoyed by both English and Afrikaans.

The MLSO also coordinates the annual NP van Wyk Louw and the biennial EB van Wyk commemorative lectures, as well as the UJ Prizes in the four official UJ languages as well as the UJ Prize for Translation.

Staff Details

Head of DepartmentProf Rockie Sibanda011 559
English Language SpecialistEsmé Grobler011 559
Sesotho sa Leboa Language SpecialistMoroamofo Leshilo011 559
IsiZulu Language SpecialistNomusa Sibiya011 559
Afrikaans Language SpecialistCorné Johl011 559
Departmental SecretaryTara Kok011 559