Undergraduate Courses

Home » Faculties of Science » Departments » Geology » Academic Programmes » Undergraduate Courses

The undergraduate degree programme in Geology is presented in the form of independent semester modules.

Modules are grouped into core modules, which we consider essential for students who would like to become professional geologists and require an Honours Degree in Geology, and supporting modules, designed specifically to enhance the earth science degree programme.

In addition to the above, the Department of Geology offers special 1- to 2-week-long practical field modules in techniques of geological field observation, data acquisition and mapping. These field modules are compulsory for undergraduate students who intend to major in Geology, in addition to the seven core modules of Geology 1, 2 and 3, and for all students registered for the Geology Honours programme.

The modules are as follows:

1st year:
GLG01A1: Minerals, rocks and earth dynamics
GLG00A1: Geology 1 field techniques
GLG01B1: Optical and analytical mineralogy

2nd year:
GLG22A2: Sedimentology and stratigraphy
GLG00A2: Geology 2 field techniques
GLG02B2: Structural geology and plate tectonics
APG02A2: Applied geological maps and geospatial techniques
APG02B2: Applied engineering and environmental geology

3rd year:
GLG10A3: Igneous rocks
GLG20A3: Metamorphic rocks
GLG00A3: Geology 3 field mapping
GLG03B3: Historical and economic geology


More information can be found in the Faculty Yearbook​​

UJ Faculties

| All Faculties

College of Business and Economics (CBE)

Created from the former Faculties of Management, and Economic and Financial Sciences


Faculty of Art, Design And Architecture

Industry-relevant and competitive professional programmes


Faculty of Education

Education has the power to transform human lives


Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

First in South Africa offering a full range of professional engineering qualifications


Faculty of Health Sciences

A preferred learner experience and innovative methods


Faculty of Humanities

To the benefit of individuals, the University and the community we serve


Faculty of Law

Traditional, specialised and short course Law programmes


Faculty of Science

Innovatively creating new knowledge and leading scientists


Johannesburg Business School

JBS. The Business of Reimagining Your Future.