Practitioner V26 July Unisa 2014

The Social Work Practitioner-Researcher

Die Maatskaplikewerk Navorser-Praktisyn

Editor: Prof Jean Triegaardt, University of Johannesburg

Hosted by the Department of Social Work, University of Johannesburg

Published by Unisa Press

ISSN: 1011-2324

Editorial Board


Prof Jean Triegaardt, University of Johannesburg


Prof A Herbst, North-West University

Prof E Kaseke, University of the Witwatersrand

Prof JBS Nel, University of Johannesburg

Dr E Pretorius, University of the Witwatersrand

Dr J Sekudu, Unisa

Prof S Sithole, University of the Limpopo

Prof C Snell, Howard University, USA

Prof A van Breda, University of Johannesburg


Prof A Barretta-Herman (University of Saint Thomas, Minnesota, USA)

Dr N Behari (Office of the Premier, KwaZulu-Natal)

Prof R Bhagwan (Durban University of Technology)

Ms C Bews (Johannesburg Child Welfare)

Prof FJ Bezuidenhout (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)

Dr MG Booyens (University of Cape Town)

Dr L da Rocha Silva (Centre for Alcohol/Drug-related Research)

Prof S Drower (University of Winchester, UK)

Prof L Engelbrecht (Stellenbosch University)

Dr SB Ferreira (University of the Free State)

Dr JM Loffell (Johannesburg Child Welfare)

Dr KE Luck (Social Worker in Private Practice; Valued Citizens Initiative)

Prof C Matthias (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Prof L-KJ Mwansa (University of Botswana)

Dr I Palmary (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr B Pretorius (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)

Dr CE Prinsloo (University of Pretoria)

Dr S Rasool (University of Johannesburg)

Dr T Raniga (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Dr RP Reyneke (University of the Free State)

Prof W Roestenburg (North-West University)

Prof E Ross (Visiting Professor, CSDA, University of Johannesburg)

Prof CJ Schenk (University of the Western Cape)

Dr J Schmid (Research Fellow, CSDA, University of Johannesburg)

Mrs S Sturgeon (University of Cape Town)

Dr R Swanzen (Monash South Africa, a Campus of Monash University, Australia)

Dr GG Wairire (University of Nairobi, Kenya)

Dr L Walker (University of Hull, UK)

Prof N Zaal (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Journal Administrator

Pat Silvey, University of Johannesburg


Phone: +27 11 559 2804

Fax: +27 11 559 2800