Skip Navigation LinksHome Faculties College of Business and Economics SCIIS Research and Thought leadership


​Research and Thought Leadership

The School of Consumer Intelligence and Information Systems is home to several high profile researchers in their respective research fields including the fields of competitive intelligence, predictive analytics, e-marketing, retailing, services and relationship marketing, intelligent and secure systems as well as IT project management.  Our research helps inform our teaching and learning as well as policy and contributes to providing solutions to business and wider societal problems. We have a wide network of local and international research partnerships and collaborations as well as a vibrant cohort of postgraduate students. 

Applied Information Systems

Research ClusterName and TitleOfficeCampusTelephoneE-mail
ICT 4 DevelopmentDr Roelien BrinkBGreen 17APB0115591222rbrink@uj.ac.za
Ms Stella BvumaSWC0115595709stellab@uj.ac.za
Ms Rehana MintyDFC0115596345rehanam@uj.ac.za
Formal Structures, Algorithms and Industrial ApplicationsDr Abejide Ade-IbijolaE Red 7APB0115591213abejideai@uj.ac.za  
IT Project Management Knowledge and Wisdom Prof Carl MarnewickD Red 2APB0115591316cmarnewick@uj.ac.za
Mr Lucas Khoza APB0115599000lucask@uj.ac.za
Mr Wikus ErasmusD Red 5APB0115591165werasmus@uj.ac.za
Mr Nazeer JosephD Red 4APB0115591510njoseph@uj.ac.za
Telecommunication Networks and Cloud ComputingMr Abdoul RassakiE Red 6APB0115591211arassaki@uj.ac.za
Intelligent systemsDr Barnabas GatsheniG Purple 4APB0115591506bgatsheni@uj.ac.za
Mr John DhlaminiD Blue 3APB0115591344jdhlamini@uj.ac.za
Mr Tinofrei MusebaD Green 5APB0115591215tmuseba@uj.ac.za
Secure systems and privacy in computingDr Kennedy NjengaG Purple 4APB0115591253knjenga@uj.ac.za
Ms Maureen van den BerghG Purple 4APB0115591345maureenvdb@uj.ac.za
Innovative pedagogical approaches towards work readiness of Information Technology studentsMr Pieter Jo ubertE Red 3APB0115591572pjoubert@uj.ac.za
Dr Glenda Barlow-JonesE Red 4APB0115591342glendab@uj.ac.za
Dr Jacqui ChettyE Red 2APB0115591177jacquic@uj.ac.za

Information and Knowledge Management

Research ClusterName and TitleOfficeCampusTelephoneE-mail

Information Management,

Internet Information Infrastructures

Prof C RensleighBridge 504 (A-Ring 5)APK+27 11 559 2189crensleigh@uj.ac.za  
E-Government, Fog Computing, Knowledge Management Systems and ArchitecturesProf KJ BwalyaA-Bridge 507APK011 559 4700kbwalya@uj.ac.za

Knowledge sharing and collaboration platforms, Digital literacy and fluency, strategic innovation and commercialisation, entrepreneurial universities, curriculum redesign, knowledge portal development, Strategic Information Management  

 

Mr Sithembiso Khumalo510APK2286skhumalo@uj.ac.za
Information Management, Competitive Intelligence, Information Architecture Mr CJP Niemand  Bridge 509 APK +27 11 559 2190 corn@uj.ac.za
Information management Knowledge management Mr J Arthur

Bridge 506

(A-Ring 5)

APK +27 11 559 2013jarthur@uj.ac.za
Information Management, Competitive Intelligence, Knowledge Economy, Mobile Health ApplicationsMs Wafeequa Dinath

Bridge 511

(A-Ring 5)

APK011 559 2176wdinath@uj.ac.za
Social Media Management, The Knowledge Economy, Competitive Intelligence, and Research MethodologyMs Andrea PotgieterA Ring Bridge 505APK+27 11 559 4419apotgieter@uj.ac.za

Marketing Management

Research ClusterName and TitleOfficeCampusTelephoneE-mail
Consumer Behaviour and e-MarketingProf M. Mpinganjira   (SciiS Director) C Ring 601 APK011 559 3200mmpinganjira@uj.ac.za  
Relationship Marketing, Customer Management and Services MarketingProf M. Roberts-LombardC Ring 607 APK011 559 3031mornayrl@uj.ac.za
Services Marketing, Marketing Research and Customer Relationship ManagementProf C.F. De Meyer-Heydenrych K Red 7 APB 011 559 1217cfdemeyer@uj.ac.za  
Strategic Communication, Integrated Marketing Communication and Public RelationsProf I. Struweg K Red 12 APB 011 559 1255istruweg@uj.ac.za
Sales Management, Sales Education, and Work Integrated Learning Dr M. Wait

 K Red 1

 

 APB 011 559 1414/24mwait@uj.ac.za  
Strategic Marketing AND Marketing ResearchDr I. LubbeC Ring 611APK0115593146isoldel@uj.ac.za
Contemporary Marketing & Retail, Consumer Behaviour and Branding (luxury)Dr B.E. Stiehler-Mulder C Ring 606APK 011 559 4054bstiehler@uj.ac.za  
Branding, Relationship Marketing, and Consumer Behaviour  Dr T. Mofokeng C Ring 607 APK 011 559 2129tmofokeng@uj.ac.za  
Digital/Electronic Marketing with a focus on: Mobile Commerce, Social Media Marketing and Consumer Behaviour Dr D.K. Maduku C Ring 604 APK 011 559 2010dkmaduku@uj.ac.za  
Consumer MarketingMr S. GwebuK Red 04APB011 559 1273sgwebu@uj.ac.za
Green Marketing, Consumer Behaviour and Education MarketingMr N. Mkhize K Red 15 APB011 559 1277njabulom@uj.ac.za  
Retail Marketing and Sport Marketing Mr R. Mathaba K Red 10 APB 011 559 1252ryanm@uj.ac.za  
Entrepreneurial Marketing, SMME Marketing and Township Economy Ms M. Zulu C Ring 610 APK011 559 3621melissaz@uj.ac.za  
Green Marketing, Sustainability and Consumer BehaviourMs N. Dilotsotlhe K Red 14 APB 011 559 1248ndilotsotlhe@uj.ac.za  
Brand Management Mr K. ZwakalaKRed 14APB011 559Kuhlez@uj.ac.za
Retailing Ms M. FrazerK Red 5APB011 5591423mfrazer@uj.ac.za
Consumer behaviour, Contemporary marketing trends and Retailing Ms N. CunninghamK Red 8 APB0115591421ncunningham@uj.ac.za