Property Management Department

Home » Support Services » Operations » Divisions » Property Management Department

The Department of Property Management (DPM) is primarily accountable to the Management Executive Committee (MEC) of UJ in terms of all property management aspects related to the UJ properties whether parts of the four campuses viz. Kingsway, Bunting Road, Doornfontein and Soweto or additional properties that do not directly adjoin the main campuses.

The Department is tasked with a focus on the effective management, control and conservation of all properties owned, leased and disposed by UJ and investigating development possibilities in accordance with the Master Development Plan. This includes the management of retail properties that are income generating and are leased to third parties. The purpose of this report is to provide the progress update on the administration of the Department of Property Management (DPM).

External Residential Properties

The University’s post-doctoral researchers are accommodated for at the following residences:

    • 1 St Swithins
    • 7 Auckland
    • 4 Goring
    • 53A Twickenham
    • 53B Twickenham
    • 70 Twickenham
    • 68 Twickenham
    • 14 Chiselhurst
    • Mayine House (Communal living)
    • Plumpudding Guesthouse & Conference Venue

Activations and Promotions

The Department of Property Management manages all events and promotions in and around the student centres at the University of Johannesburg.

Contact Details

Director: Celiwe Maake –, 011 559 1403
Finance: Yoleen Fortein –, 011 559 1385
UJ Properties: Tinyiko Baloyi –, 011 559 1410
Maintenance: Keletjo Mabusa –, 011 599 1643
Student Centres & Activations: Vukile Ntshangase –, 011 599 1550