Staff Members

Home » Prof Sehaam Khan
prof sehaam khan

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic
Name: Sehaam Khan
Location: 1st floor Madibeng, West Wing Auckland Park Kingsway Campus
Management Executive Committee, Management Leadership Group  Staff Members

Contact Details:
Tel: Tel: 011-559-4836/4809

Personal/Executive Assistant: Mrs. Rego Dube

About Prof Sehaam Khan

Professor Sehaam Khan completed a PhD degree in Microbiology (Molecular Virology) in 2002 at the University of the Western Cape, where one year of her research was completed at Wageningen University in the Netherlands.  She started her academic journey as a lecturer in 2002 at the then Cape Technikon, now Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT), and moved through the ranks to Associate Professor by 2008. From February 2005 to February 2006, she joined the Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Singapore, as a post-doctoral fellow, working on genes in the coronavirus (SARS Co-V). She served as Acting Head of Department for Biomedical Technology at CPUT from June 2014 – June 2015 before starting her tenure as the Dean of the Faculty of Health and Applied Sciences at the Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) in 2016.

She held the position of Executive Dean of Health Sciences at the University of Johannesburg from 2019 to 2022. Currently, she holds the position of DVC: Academic at UJ. Her scholarly prowess is demonstrated by her extensive contribution to academia in the areas of teaching and learning, the development of Faculty and institutional policies, guidelines, tools and government plans, and research through her publication of peer reviewed articles, book chapters, scientific papers, conference proceedings and conference outputs and successful supervision of numerous masters and doctoral students. Further to this, Professor Khan serves as a member of various societies in the fields of microbiology and virology (the latter more specifically, as the external moderator for Virology, for the Biomedical Technology Board until 2022). She also served as a member of the Research and Innovation Committee for the development of Fifth National Development Plan for Namibia and is currently part of the Premier of Gauteng’s Advisory Committee for COVID-19.