Ms. Dimakatso Maheso: UJ Conference 2022 – 2nd Prize (Oral Presentation & People’s Choice Award)

Ms. Dimakatso Maheso, a master’s student under the supervision of Prof. Soebur Razzaque at the Centre of Astro-Particle Physics, has just been awarded the 2nd prize for her oral presentation for MSc in 4IR at the UJ Conference. Dimakatso was also awarded the People’s choice award. We would like to formally congratulate you on your awards and look forward to seeing what you accomplish next!

Ms. Tamador Aldowma: OWSD PhD Fellowship Award 2021

The OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career Women Scientists honour and support women in poor countries who are in the early phases of their scientific careers and have faced significant obstacles to attain excellence in research. Ms. Tamador Aldowma, a new PhD student from Sudan, was awarded the prestigious OWSD PhD fellowship in 2021. Tamador is a lecturer at Omdurman Islamic University, Faculty of Science and Technology, Department Of Astronomy and Meteorology in Omdurman-Sudan.

Dr. Ushak Rahaman: Postdoctoral Fellows Research Excellence Awards 2021

The Postdoctoral Excellence Awards recognizes Postdoctoral Research Fellow’s who have distinguished themselves by their research outputs and academic citizenship at the University of Johannesburg. Dr. Ushak Rahaman was awarded the Postdoctoral Excellence Award in 2021 for his research in neutrino oscillation, CP violation in neutrino sector, neutrino mass and mixing models.

Ushak was awarded with a gift voucher in honour of his award, which he graciously donated to the centre. The centre was able to buy astronomy and physics books for the students to read.