The NRF rating system is a key driver to building a globally competitive science system in South Africa. It is a valuable tool for benchmarking the quality of our researchers against the best in the world. NRF ratings are allocated based on a researcher’s recent research outputs and impact as perceived by international peer reviewers. The UJ Department of Sociology has 8 NRF Rated Staff Members :

B – Internationally Acclaimed Researchers

Prof Patrick Bond NRF B1 Rating

Prof Ashwin Desai NRF B1 Rating

Prof Ingrid Palmary NRF B3 Rating

Prof Tina Uys NRF B3 Rating

C – Established Researchers

Prof Luke Sinwell NRF C1 Rating

Prof Pragna Rugunanan NRF C2 Rating

Prof Kezia Batisai NRF C3 Rating

Y – Young Established Researchers

Prof David du Toit Y2 Rating