Diploma in Architecture

Home » University Courses » Diploma in Architecture


Faculty Website:   Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture
Department: Department of Architecture
Programme Level: Undergraduate
Programme Name: Diploma in Architecture
Programme Code: D8AT1Q

Medium of Facilitation: Full-Time
NQF Level: 
NQF Credits: 360
SAQA: 90617

Application Start Date: 1 April 2024
Application End Date: 31 October 2024

Campus: Auckland Park Bunting Road

Contacts: 011 559-1115 or 011 559-1098
Email: fadaadmin@uj.ac.za

Duration of Study: 3 Years

Programme Fees


The programme addresses knowledge fields in architecture. It emphasises the relationship between design and technology and focuses on design concepts and design development using an interdisciplinary design approach. It prepares students for further study or registration and employment as Candidate Architectural Technologists (SACAP Part 1).

Career Opportunities

Architectural Practitioners design simple buildings and produce technological details.

Admission Requirements

A minimum APS of 25 with Mathematics or 26 with Technical Mathematics. English 5 (60%+), Mathematics 4 (50%+), Mathematical Literacy 4 (50%) or Technical Mathematics 5 (60%+)

Selection Process

Selection is based on minimum APS achieved and the submission of a specified portfolio.<br|

More Information

Diploma In Architecture

Latest News

| View All News

Vice-Chancellor Message – 17 May 2024

As someone entrusted with the leadership of this great University,


President Ramaphosa honours Elijah Barayi’s enduring legacy at inaugural UJ…

The great legacy and powerful voice of Elijah Barayi continues


UJ study reveals complex dynamics influencing voter choices in SA’s…

This year South Africa marks 30 years of democracy and


UJ celebrates remarkable ascent in global rankings

The University of Johannesburg (UJ) continues its remarkable ascent in


Tackling corruption in Church and State: UJ Library hosts critical…

‘What is the role of churches in a country with

UJ Faculties

| All Faculties

College of Business and Economics (CBE)

Created from the former Faculties of Management, and Economic and Financial Sciences


Faculty of Art, Design And Architecture

Industry-relevant and competitive professional programmes


Faculty of Education

Education has the power to transform human lives


Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

First in South Africa offering a full range of professional engineering qualifications


Faculty of Health Sciences

A preferred learner experience and innovative methods


Faculty of Humanities

To the benefit of individuals, the University and the community we serve


Faculty of Law

Traditional, specialised and short course Law programmes


Faculty of Science

Innovatively creating new knowledge and leading scientists


Johannesburg Business School

JBS. The Business of Reimagining Your Future.