​The Language Unit has formed partnerships with national and local bodies in order to promote the University, the Unit itself and the Language Policy.


The Language Unit has signed a memorandum of understanding with the Pan South African Language Board (PanSALB), with the aim of promoting multilingualism. The Unit and PanSALB aim to work together on strategies to increase the use and awareness of Sesotho sa Leboa and IsiZulu and to promote equal use of all four of UJ’s official languages.

PanSALB website

SeiponeThe Language Unit and Seipone have signed a memorandum of understanding. Language Unit articles (written by staff of the Language Unit or students) are published fortnightly in Seipone newspaper, which has its readership in Capricorn, Sekhukhune, Waterberg and parts of Mopani in Limpopo. Issues of Seipone are distributed on all four UJ campuses and staff members can subscribe to receive their free copies. Please contact Mr Moroamofo Leshilo for subscription purposes. The Language Unit is therefore bringing the newspaper to Gauteng and is increasing this readership.

Seipone website

ProlinguaThe Language Unit is represented at Prolingua meetings. Prolingua is an association for Afrikaans and English language practitioners. A working meeting is held on the second Tuesday of every month, during which interesting speakers give talks, and terms as well as other language issues are discussed. Members are encouraged to present terms for discussion which may then be included on the Prolingua terminology list. This list is not only for members, but is available free of charge on the Prolingua website.

Prolingua website

Ukhozi FM and Thobela FMThe Language Unit works with Ukhozi FM and Thobela FM in terms of participating in language debates and programmes on air. These radio stations are also used for promoting Language Unit events.

Ukhozi FM website

Other universitiesThe Language Unit benchmarks regularly with other South African universities regarding language policies and issues. These universities have included North-West University, Stellenbosch University, the University of Limpopo, the University of the Free State and Rhodes University.