Contact Us

Home » Research » Contact Us

Research & Innovation Division

Dr Ndivhuwo Luruli

Executive Director

Email: nmluruli@uj.ac.za

 

Ms. Philisile Nedzivhani 

  • Executive Personal Assistant
  • Office Coordinator

Email: ptshabalala@uj.ac.za

 

Strategic Research Support

Director: Vacant

  • Non-NRF funding opportunities
  • EU funding applications (acting LEAR = legal representative)
  • Newton Fund, UKRI, Wellcome Trust, ESRC funding
  • USA federal funding opportunities applied for through Grants.Gov (CDC, NIH etc.)
  • National and international Partnerships, including BRICS; SASUF

 

Mr. Tshediso Msibi
Research Officer
E-mail: tmsibi@uj.ac.za

  • ​South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI Chairs)
  • Research and Innovation/Ideation Chairs
  • DSI/NRF Centres of Excellence (CoEs)
  • University Research Committee (URC) funding
  • Research Centres and Institutes
  • Research ethics
  • Pre- and Post-award processes

 

Research Officer: Vacant

  • NRF Rating – applications, queries etc.
  • National Research Foundation (NRF) grants administration
  • Prestigious Awards (national and international)
  • Coordination of grantsmanship, and research support workshops.
  • Pre- & Post-award processes

 

Ms. Kentse Mabalane
Research Administrator
E-mail: mabalanek@uj.ac.za

  • National Research Foundation (NRF) grants administration
  • National Research Foundation (NRF) grants administration
  • Je-S system (UK funding portal administration)
  • Support programmes for emerging/early career academics
  • Post-and Post-award processes

 

Ms. Katleho Mokwatsi
Research Administrative Assistant
E-mail: kmokwatsi@uj.ac.za

 

Global News Releases

Ms. Therese van Wyk
Research Media Liaison: Global News Releases
E-mail: theresevw@uj.ac.za

  • Tracking of UJ research for global news releases
  • Global new releases about significant UJ research
  • Updating Research Office website

 

Research Intelligence

Mr. Dale Towert
Director: Research Intelligence
E-mail: dalet@uj.ac.za

  • Bibliometric analyses and profiles
  • Research Information Systems administration
  • Scopus publication and citation database
  • InfoEd publications management system (support and training)
  • NRF ROSS – Research Output Submission System
  • SPIN international funding database
  • SciVal Research Intelligence Suite
  • Research output submission data management

 

Ms. Tenele Dlamini
Administrative Officer: Research Intelligence
E-mail: teneled@uj.ac.za

  • Bibliometric analyses and profiles
  • Research Information Systems administration
  • Scopus publication and citation database
  • NRF ROSS – Research Output Submission System
  • SPIN international funding database
  • SciVal Research Intelligence Suite
  • InfoEd publications management system (support and training)
  • Research output submission data management

 

Research Administration

Ms. Reetha Nundulall

Director: Research Administration
E-mail: reethan@uj.ac.za

  • Management of research output submissions to DHET
  • Management of creative output submissions to DHET
  • Management of the R & D Survey submission to the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC)
  • Management of OROSS in conjunction with the UJ Library

 

Ms Thobeka Tshitshi

Coordinator: Research Administration

E-mail: tthobeka@uj.ac.za

  • Research Output submissions to DHET
  • Creative outputs submission to DHET
  • R & D Survey submission to the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC)

 

Ms. Lasershnie Nambiar

Assistant Research Administrator: Research Administration
E-mail: lnambiar@uj.ac.za

  • Research Output submissions to DHET
  • InfoEd publications management system (support)
  • R & D Survey submission to the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC)

 

Technology Transfer Office (TTO)

Ms. Rosemary Wolson
Director: Technology Transfer Office
E-mail: rosemaryw@uj.ac.za

 

Ms. Varonique De La Rey
Personal Assistant to Director: TTO
E-mail: vdelarey@uj.ac.za

  • PA to Director
  • Office Coordinator
  • Inteum System Coordinator

 

Ms. Phumela Phungula
Administrative Assistance: Prior Art Searches
E-mail: pphungula@uj.ac.za

  • Market reports
  • Project commercialization
  • Inteum

  

Mr. Tebogo Machete
Senior Manager: Intellectual Property Management
E-mail: tmachete@uj.ac.za

  • Prior art searches and Due diligence on invention disclosures
  • Intellectual Property management (Patent filings, prosecutions, management, Awareness)
  • Commercialisation/Technology Transfer activities
  • Contracts management

 

Ms. Charmaine Niemand
Manager: Innovation Projects
E-mail: charmainen@uj.ac.za

  • TIA Seed Fund: Pre-award processes & post-award processes
  • TIA Residual Fund (Applications & Awards) Pre-award processes & post-award processes
  • NIPMO reporting (IP7’s, Rebate, Support Fund, IP1’s)

 

Ms. Caro Buitendag

Marketing

E-mail: carob@uj.ac.za

  • ​UJ TTO Incubator
  • Mashauri Virtual Incubation Programme
  • EDHE Entrepreneurship Intervarsity
  • EDHE Student Entrepreneurship Week (SEW)

 

Mr. Phumuza Langa
Senior Manager: Commercial Analyst
E-mail: planga@uj.ac.za

  • Licensing of technologies within the patent portfolio
  • Business case and technoeconomic studies coordination for commercial projects
  • Proposal review for seed funding
  • Market assessments
  • Fund raising for commercial potential research projects

 

Ms Ruwaida Mohideen
Intellectual Property Officer
E-mail: ruwaidam@uj.ac.za

  • Promote awareness and encourage intellectual property creation within the institution
  • Support faculties and divisions in activities that promote the development of intellectual property
  • Evaluate new invention disclosures
  • Intellectual property management and project managing a portfolio of technologies with commercialisation potential