Skip Navigation Linkscontacts Contact Us

Contact Us

Skip Navigation LinksHome Research Contact Us


RESEARCH & INNOVATION DIVISION: UNITS AND CONTACT DETAILS

Executive Director: Dr Carol Nonkwelo

Executive Personal Assistant: Ms. Philisile Nedzivhani (ptshabalala@uj.ac.za)

 

 

STAFF MEMBER

 

PROGRAMMES/FUNCTIONS


Dr Ndivhuwo Luruli

Director: Strategic Research Support

E-mail: nmluruli@uj.ac.za

Non-NRF funding opportunities
EU funding applications (acting LEAR = legal representative)
USA federal funding opportunities applied for through Grants.Gov (CDC, NIH etc.)
Newton Fund, UKRI, Wellcome Trust, ESRC funding
National and international Partnerships, including BRICS; SASUF


Mr. Tshediso Msibi

Research Officer

E-mail: tmsibi@uj.ac.za


South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI Chairs)
DSI/NRF Centres of Excellence (CoEs)
University Research Committee (URC) funding
Research Centres and Institutes
Research ethics
Pre- and Post-award processes


Ms. Kentse Mabalane

Research Administrator

E-mail: mabalanek@uj.ac.za 

​ ​ ​
National Research Foundation (NRF) grants administration
Je-S system (UK funding portal administration)
Support programmes for emerging/early career academics
Post-and Post-award processes

 

Ms. Kgalalelo Motlhabane

Research Officer

E-mail: kgalalelom@uj.ac.za

​ ​ ​ ​
NRF Rating – applications, queries etc.
National Research Foundation (NRF) grants administration
Prestigious Awards (national and international)
Co-ordination of grantsmanship, and research support workshops.
Pre- & Post-award processes


Ms. Katleho Mokwatsi

Research Administrative Assistant

E-mail: kmokwatsi@uj.ac.za

​ ​ ​
National Research Foundation (NRF) grants administration
Research Professional registration (link: https://www.researchprofessional.com/0/rr/home)
General administration
Pre-award & post-award processes


Mr. Dale Towert

Senior Manager: Research Intelligence

E-mail: dalet@uj.ac.za

Bibliometric analyses and profiles
Research Information Systems administration
Scopus publication and citation database
InfoEd publications management system (support and training)
NRF ROSS - Research Output Submission System
SPIN international funding database
SciVal Research Intelligence Suite
Research output submission data management


Ms. Tenele Dlamini

Administrative Officer: Research Intelligence

E-mail: teneled@uj.ac.za

Provision of research intelligence support
Bibliometric analyses and profiles
Research Information Systems administration
Scopus publication and citation database
NRF ROSS - Research Output Submission System
SPIN international funding database
SciVal Research Intelligence Suite
InfoEd publications management system (support and training)
Research output submission data management


Ms. Reetha Nundulall

Director: Research Administration

E-mail: reethan@uj.ac.za

​ ​ ​
Research publication submission to the Department of Higher Education & Training (DHET)
Creative outputs submission to DHET
R & D Survey submission to the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC)
Management of OROSS in conjunction with the UJ Library

 

Ms. Lasershnie Nambiar

Assistant Research Administrator: Research Administration

E-mail: lnambiar@uj.ac.za


Assistant to Director: Research Administration

 

 

Ms. Rosemary Wolson

Director: Technology Transfer Office

E-mail: rosemaryw@uj.ac.za


Director

 

Mr. Tebogo Machete

Senior Manager: Technology Transfer Office

E-mail: tmachete@uj.ac.za

​ ​ 
Invention disclosure management
Prior art searches and Due diligence on invention disclosures
Intellectual Property management (Patent filings, prosecutions, management, Awareness)
Commercialisation/Technology Transfer activities
Contracts management

 

Ms. Charmaine Niemand

Manager: Innovation Projects and Technology Transfer Office

E-mail: charmainen@uj.ac.za 

​ ​

TIA Seed Fund (Applications, Awards, Recipient Funding Agreements and Reports)

Pre-award processes & Post-award processes

TIA Residual Fund (Applications & Awards) Pre-award processes & Post-award processes
NIPMO reporting (IP7's, Rebate, Support Fund, IP1's)

 

Ms. Caro Buitendag

Technology Transfer Office

E-mail: carob@uj.ac.za

 

​ ​ 
UJTTO Incubator
Mashauri Virtual Incubation Programme
EDHE Entrepreneurship Intervarsity
EDHE Student Entrepreneurship Week (SEW)

 

Ms. Phumela Phungula

Technology Transfer Office

Administrative Assistance

E-mail: pphungula@uj.ac.za

Prior Art Searches

Market reports
Project commercialization
Inteum

 

Mr. Erick Scholtz

Technician: Technology Transfer Office

E-mail: ericks@uj.ac.za

TIA Seed fund applications and awards

Pre-award & post-award processes
Technical support

 

Mr. Phumuza Langa

Senior Manager: Commercial Analyst

Technology Transfer Office

E-mail: planga@uj.ac.za

 

​ ​ ​ ​
Licensing of technologies within the patent portfolio
Business case and technoeconomic studies coordination for commercial projects
Proposal review for seed funding
Market assessments
Fund raising for commercial potential research projects

 

Ms. Varonique De La Rey

PA: Director TTO

E-mail: vdelarey@uj.ac.za

​ ​

PA to Director

Office Coordinator
Inteum System Coordinator