Home » Postgraduate School » About us » Research Capacity Development (RCD) » Three Minute Thesis Competition

Uj 3min Faculty Thesis Competition2019 Invite



First developed by the University of Queensland in 2008, the Three Minute Thesis competition (3MT®) challenges research students to communicate the significance of their projects to a non-specialist audience in just three minutes. 3MT provides research students with the opportunity to develop their academic, presentation, and research communication skills by explaining their research to an intelligent but non-specialist audience. The local UJ competition will challenge students to present face-to-face, and additionally the virtual final will hone skills associated from being filmed for an international audience, receiving international peer review, and gaining skills surrounding the presentation of their research to a wider audience.


Active Doctoral (Registered Ph.D. and Professional Doctorate (Research)) candidates (who have successfully passed their confirmation milestone by the date of their first presentation (including thesis under submission) are eligible to participate in the 3MT competition. Graduates are not eligible.


    • A single static slide is permitted (no slide transitions, animations or ‘movement’ of any description). This can be visible continuously, or ‘cut to’ (as many times as you like) for a maximum of 1 minute.
    • Presentations are limited to 3 minutes and competitors exceeding 3 minutes are disqualified.
    • The 3-minute audio must be continuous – no edits, breaks etc.
    • No additional props (e.g., costumes, musical instruments, laboratory equipment, animated backgrounds) are permitted.
    • Presentations are to be spoken word (e.g., no poems, raps or songs).
    • The decision of the adjudicating panel is final.
    • The video can be filmed from a live 3MT event or a specific set but must have only one camera angle filmed from a static position. Zoom in and out from the static position is acceptable.
    • No additional electronic media (e.g., sound and video files) are permitted within the video recording.
    • Presentations are considered to have commenced when a presenter starts their presentation through movementor speech (timing does not include the student’s title slide).


Round 1: Submission of abstract and slide 30 June 2023 accompanied by an application on the RCD management system @rcdonline.co.za

Round 2: Panel feedback to successful entrants: 7 July 2023

Round 3: Final submission 14 July 2023

Competitor Guidelines, FAQ and other resources available at https://threeminutethesis.uq.edu.au/live-competition


You can register in advance to attend the event on Zoom, please click on the link:  Webinar Registration – Zoom

For more information, please email rcdenquiries@uj.ac.za


UJ’s Postgraduate School would like to congratulate the winners of the 2023 UJ Three Minute Thesis Competition!

1st Place

Odifentse Lehasa

Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

Ms. Odifentse Lehasa will represent UJ in the

Universitas 21 (U21) 2023  3MT International competition.

We wish her all the best for the international competition.

2nd Place/Prize

Rabia Bhamjee

Faculty of Education

3rd  Place/Prize

Refilwe Lukhwareni

Faculty of Science


People’s Choice Award

Alexandar Chota

Faculty of Health Science

Ms. Odifentse Lehasa will represent UJ in the Universitas 21 (U21) 2023 3MT International competition. We wish her all the best for the international competition.


We wish to congratulate the following winners of the 2022 Three Minute Thesis Competition

Pranisha Rama_ 1st

1st Place
Pranisha Rama
College of Business and Economics

Daniella Da Silva _3rd

3rd Place
Daniella Da Silva
Faculty of Health Science

Nompumelelo Malatji

People’s choice awards
Nompumelelo Malatji
Faculty of Science


The Postgraduate School wishes to congratulate the following winners of the 2021 Three Minute Thesis Competition:

1st Place

Dean Van Der Merwe

Dean van der Merwe
Department of Childhood Education
Faculty of Education
Topic: Lesson design in pre-service teacher education: foregrounding learning and the development of competencies for a fast-changing world

2nd Place

Opeoluwa Akinradewo

Opeoluwa Akinradewo
Construction Management and Quantity Surveying
Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
Topic: Development of a blockchain-based information management system for the construction industry

2019 Competition Winner (UJ)

2018 Competition Winner (UJ)

2018 Peoples Choice Award (UJ)