In collaboration with the National University of Lesotho (NUL), the University of Johannesburg (UJ) will be hosting the 2022 Southern African Development Community (SADC) Conference on the 29th of April.

SADC has a twofold mandate: to coordinate development projects in an attempt to promote collective self-reliance by shaking off the economic dependence of SADCC members on apartheid and white minority-ruled South Africa as well as other countries; and to implement projects with national and regional impact.2 The SADCC was converted into SADC in August 1992 by member states in Windhoek, Namibia through adoption of the Windhoek Declaration and the Treaty establishing SADC with the express purpose to deepen economic cooperation and integration in order to undo the factors that stop member states from sustaining economic growth and socio-economic development. In theory, SADC is thus a community of states that have always been desirous of achieving regional integration in order to remove or reduce trade barriers between member states whilst safeguarding against external intrusion of the community.

NUL and UJ therefore wish to deepen understanding and stimulate debate to the discourse on SADC Community Law by hosting an inaugural seminar under the
theme “Interrogating the construct and Application of SADC Community Law within Members States towards Achieving Regional Integration”. This seminar is poised to be an important milestone in creating a platform for interactive debates, robust discussions and engagements on issues that affect interpretation and application of SADC Community Law.

Join the conference online at: Click here to join the meeting

(SADC) is a regional economic community composed of 16 member states, namely; Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. SADC is a predecessor of the Southern African Development Co-ordination Conference (SADCC)1 initially made up of nine countries in Southern Africa founded in Lusaka, Zambia in April 1980 through adoption of the Lusaka Declaration of Southern Africa towards Economic Liberation.

Apr 29, 2022
Sadc Logo

Latest News

| View All News

NSTF names UJ Metabolomics expert Dr Tugizimana an awards finalist

The National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) has announced Dr


Para-rower Lifa Hlongwa to compete in Italy’s 17th global para-rowing…

Fourth-year BCom Economics and Econometrics student and para-rower at the


Vice-Chancellor Message – 02 June 2023

Dear UJ Community, It is heartening indeed that each week


UJ tops global THE Impact Rankings, takes first spot for…

Shortly after the University of Johannesburg (UJ) was announced as


Introducing UJTV: A new era of storytelling

“Nobody is going to tell stories on our behalf, we