UJ’s Sasha-Lee crowned Miss Varsity Cup 2013

Date: Apr 9, 2013 | News

​​UJ may have bowed out in the semi-finals of this year’s Varsity Cup rugby competition, but it provided the clear winner in the beauty stakes when a second year BCom Accounting student, Sasha-Lee Oliver was crowned Miss Varsity Cup 2013.


Sasha-Lee was crowned during the final between the Maties and Tuks on Monday night at the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch.
While Tuks were giving the Maties a 44 – 5 thrashing on home soil, UJ stole the limelight at the crowning of the new Miss Varsity Cup. The much anticipated result was announced during half time and broadcast live on Supersport 1.
Sasha-Lee won the Miss UJ Varsity Cup title on 19 March thus qualifying to represent UJ at the final Varsity Cup match.
“I entered Miss Varsity Cup 2013 because I wanted to be involved in the Varsity Cup campaign, and get an opportunity to serve and represent my university, UJ”, she says.
The 2013 Varsity Cup tournament was sponsored by FNB, Steinhoff, Black Label, Cell C and Spur, some of which Sasha-Lee will be working with during her year-long reign.
“UJ Sport ensures Miss UJ Varsity Cup is a lady of distinguished values, has a love for life, a truly holistic student and, most importantly, has a love for ‘backing her boytjies’,” says Tracy Van Ginkel, Recruitment Coordinator: UJ Sport.​


Uj’s Sasha Lee Crowned Miss Varsity Cup 2013

Latest News

| View All News

UJ’s Community Engagement Unit empowers communities with Financial Literacy skills

The University of Johannesburg’s (UJ)  Community Engagement (CE) Unit, within


National Research Foundation (NRF) awards two new SARChI chairs to…

The National Research Foundation (NRF) has awarded two additional research


UJ honoured at 2023 SAICA Chairman’s Difference Makers Awards

The University of Johannesburg is proud to announce the remarkable


Vice-Chancellor Message – 26 May 2023

Dear UJ Community, Last week on this platform, I explained


UJ’s rising star, Ramakgahlela Betty Sebati ready to shine at…

The Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings has announced