UJFM 95.4 takes home 5 MTN Radio Awards

Date: Apr 22, 2015 | News

​​Ntsiki Kalipa, Steven Darge, Lebo Phokela, Andrew Hope, and Nick Explicit from the University of Johannesburg’s (UJ) campus radio station, UJFM 95.4, were the stars of the night at the 2015 MTN Radio Awards at the Sandton Convention Centre on Saturday, 18 April. UJFM scooped five awards out of 12 nominations this year.
Says Natasha Archary, Acting Station Manager: UJFM: “It is a great honour to receive awards for the categories. This is a remarkable achievement for the station that has made enormous strides in the industry and it’s a testament to the hard work, dedication, efforts and drive from the entire team. With a renewed vision and the tremendous challenges faced thus far, it’s enlightening to know that our on-air content is strong and is recognised. Change is on the horizon, but the voice of UJFM will remain unchanged and will pave the way to a bright future for the young station.”
The UJFM was deemed the best by industry for the following shows:
Bright Star – Nontsikelelo Kalipa
Field News Reporter – Steven Darge
Sports Show – Andrew Hope
Daytime Show – Lebo Phokela
Afternoon Drive Show – Nick Explicit
Other nominations included My Station Award – Campus Station; On-Air Packaging – Siphiwe Khumalo; Night Time Show – Precious Nkadimeng; News Bulletin Reader – Mummy Mohlahlo; Breakfast Show Presenter – AB Da Costa; Breakfast Show – AB da Costa; and Afternoon Drive Show Presenter – Nick Explicit.
As a celebration of excellence in the radio industry, the MTN Radio gala banquet is attended by the entire radio fraternity. The awards recognise and affirm the talent that propels South African radio.
“This is the sixth rendition of the MTN Radio Awards and we are delighted that some astute marketers and leading brands have elected to align with the awards through sponsoring various categories,” says Lance Rothschild, CEO of the MTN Radio Awards.
Rothschild added: “We are confident that the sponsors’ alignment with the awards and the specific categories will meet their communications objectives and further the growth of their businesses.”
Mtn Radio Awards

Latest News

| View All News

Please see International Scholarship Opportunities below:

Country Closing Date Common Wealth 31 May Taiwan (Masters/PhD) 31


Runner Nkosinathi Sibiya gearing up for 2022 Athletics African Championships…

Athletic star Nkosinathi Sibiya has raised his bar in running


UJ Netball players shine at the start of the Telkom…

The 2022 Telkom Netball League at Hatfield Arena in Tshwane


How can innovation and technology address social exclusion, equity and…

Rebecca Hanlin, Professor in Innovation and Sustainable Development DSI/NRF/Newton Fund


The P-RI scoops two UJ URC Research Equipment awards!

Congratulations to Dr Matt Caruana and Prof Justin Bradfield who