Top honours for UJ sport at 2019 USSA Games

Date: Jul 8, 2019 | Netball, News, Sport

While the majority of students at the University of Johannesburg (UJ) are still enjoying the winter recess, UJ student athletes have continued to put in work and excel on the sporting front. From 1-5 July 2019, four UJ teams representing different sporting codes were in action at the University Sports South Africa (USSA) 2019 games.


uj sport athletes

UJ netball, Division A champions at USSA 2019

The UJ basketball team won 69 – 41 against UKZN, the team was undefeated throughout the tournament. UJ squash scooped their 8th title in a row while netball finished in first place in Division A.

Upcoming fixtures for Varsity Football:

Soon, the UJ men’s and women’s Varsity Football tournament will kick-off when the second semester academic programme starts. Below are the dates and times for the UJ games for both males’ and females’ fixtures:

25 Jul, 18:30 | UJ vs CUT | CUT Stadium
1 Aug, 18:15 | UJ vs TUT | UJ Soweto | TV
8 Aug, 18:15 | UP-Tuks vs UJ | Tuks Stadium | TV
15 Aug, 18:30 | UJ vs UWC | UJ Soweto
22 Aug, 18:15 | UJ vs NWU | UJ Soweto | TV
29 Aug, 18:30 | UJ vs UFS | Shimlas Park
5 Sep, 18:15 | UJ vs UKZN | UJ Soweto | TV
12 Sep, 16:00/18:15
19-21 Sep, (Women’s Varsity Football weekend)
26 Sep, 15:00 (women’s final)
26 Sep, 18:00 (men final)

Uj Team

UJ squash make it 8 consecutive USSA wins in a row

Uj Team

Latest News

| View All News

Please see International Scholarship Opportunities below:

Country Closing Date Common Wealth 31 May Taiwan (Masters/PhD) 31


Runner Nkosinathi Sibiya gearing up for 2022 Athletics African Championships…

Athletic star Nkosinathi Sibiya has raised his bar in running


UJ Netball players shine at the start of the Telkom…

The 2022 Telkom Netball League at Hatfield Arena in Tshwane


How can innovation and technology address social exclusion, equity and…

Rebecca Hanlin, Professor in Innovation and Sustainable Development DSI/NRF/Newton Fund


The P-RI scoops two UJ URC Research Equipment awards!

Congratulations to Dr Matt Caruana and Prof Justin Bradfield who