Skip Navigation Linksabout About


About



​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Services

Your home away from home, one of the main purposes of the Division is to integrate international students into UJ student life. This is done on the following levels:

  • Social interaction (Welcome Function, International Festival, excursions)
  • Student exchange programme
  • Communication (newsletter, sms service, liaison with embassies, etc.)
  • Student support (buddy system, UJISS, orientation programme)
  • Study abroad

International Admissions and Welfare Office

The International Admissions and Welfare Office is there to ensure that all international students are provided with necessary support for the duration of their studies at the University of Johannesburg.

The International Admissions and Welfare Office is located on all four campuses and is responsible for:

  • advising prospective students about programmes offered at UJ and all legal requirements;
  • Assisting with compliance related issues which include study visa and medical aid requirements;
  • clearing admitted international students for registration;
  • providing liaison services for international students and faculties;
  • liaising with all South African Missions (Embassies, High Commissions, Consulates, Trade Missions) and the South African Department of Home Affairs
  • social integration through orientation and student activities
  • welfare services
Download ​​​staff brochure

NamesPositions​​Contacts
Dr Pinkie MekgweExecutive Directortel: +27 (0)11 559 4446
e-mail pmekgwe@uj.ac.za
Ms Lesley GilbertExecutive Secretarytel: +27 (0)11 559 4293
e-mail lagilbert@uj.ac.za
​Prof Judy Peter​Director : Internationalisation, Academic Services
te: +27 (0)11 559 3797
e-mail judyp@uj.ac.za​
Mr Lebethe Malefo

Director: Study Abroad

tel: +27 (0) 11 559 4592
e-mail lmalefo@uj.ac.za
​Ms Thembile Gumbi​Secretary to Director

​tel: +27 (0) 11 559 4099
e-mail itgumbi@uj.ac.za

Mr Tshidiso KoneseSenior Student Recruitment Manager tel: +27 (0) 11 559 4832
e-mail tshidisok@uj.ac.za
Mr Tshepang Marumo​Supervisor: International Admissions Office

tel: +27 (0)11 559 4517
​e-mail:tshepangm@uj.ac.za

Ms Lisle du PlessisManager: Study Abroadtel: 27 (0) 11 559 2528
e-mail:lduplessis@uj.ac.za
​Mr Ismail Badrudin​Public Relations and Communications Officer

​tel: +27 (0)11 559 2303
e-mail: ismailb@uj.ac.za

Ms Shantelle Sass Academic and Student Services Officertel: 27 (0) 11 559 7780
e-mail: ssass@uj.ac.za
​Mr Thabang Mothebe​International Admissions Officer​tel: +27 (0)11 559 6510
e-mail:thabangm@uj.ac.za
​Ms Mampou Nqgumshe​International Admissions Officer​tel: +27 (0)11 559 1027
e-mail:mampoum@uj.ac.za  
​Ms Palesa Makwela​International Admissions Officer​tel: +27 (0)11 559 5014
e-mail:pmakwela@uj.ac.za
​​​