Department of Chemistry Academic Awards 2018

Department of Chemistry Academic Awards 2018


                                          Prize recipients, back row, left to right: Miss Tafadzwa Precious Mabate, Mr Kah William Chu, Mr Tshegofatjo Mabogoane, Mr Lebohang Mosia.

                                 Front row, left to right:  Mr Sakhile Mvelase, Miss Semakaleng Lydia Bewana,  Miss Klarise Marais and Mr Kgopotso Moshohli Mashaphu.  



The Department of Chemistry hosted its annual academic awards ceremony for the best performing undergraduate as well as honours students for the year 2017. The event was held at the University of Johannesburg's prestigious Madibeng Building. The head of department Prof Meijboom opened the ceremony and welcomed all the guests who included the awardees, their parents, relatives, chemistry staff members, Prof Strydom (Vice Dean: Research and Postgraduate Studies) and prize sponsor representatives from the private sector. The HOD, further highlighted the importance of student support and encouragement by the parents and staff members as being critical for student success. Prof Strydom and Prof Muller also shared and few words of encouragement and congratulated the students on their achievements. Ultimately the evening was about honoring the hard working students and their commendable achievements with prizes sponsored by Shimadzu, Protea Laboratory Solutions, Lasec, Merck-Sigma group, Bruno Steiner Lab Solutions, AECI and the Department of Chemistry. The department would like to thank all the academic and technical staff members for their dedication and contribution towards the generation of bright future scientist. Congratulations once more to all the prize recipients on the night. Job well done and keep it up!!!

Best 1st year student: 4 year Physical Sciences degree programme: Mr Lebohang Mosia

Best 1st year student: 4 year Life and Environmental Sciences degree programme: Mr Tshegofatjo Mabogoane

Best 1st year student: Life and Environmental Sciences degree programme: Mr Sakhile Mvelase  

Best 1st year student: Physical Sciences degree programme: Miss Klarise Marais  

Best 2nd year student: Chemistry: Mr Kgopotso Moshohli Mashaphu

Best 3rd year student: Chemistry: Miss Tafadzwa Precious Mabate 

Best honours student: Chemistry: Miss Semakaleng Lydia Bewana

Cum-Laude Honours degree: Mr Kah William Chu

Best 1st year student. 4 year Life and Environmental Sciences.jpg                                  Best 1st year student. Life and Environmental Sciences degree programme.jpg

Mr C Pillay (Protea Laboratory Solutions), Mr Lebohang Mosia, Prof A Strydom                              Aubrey (Lasec) Mr Tshegofatjo Mabogoane, Prof A Strydom 

1st year student. Life and Environmental Sciences degree programme.jpg                                

 Prof K Mallick, Mr Sakhile Mvelase, Prof A Strydom                                                                  Dr L Den Drijver, Miss Klarise Marais, Prof A Strydom              

Best 2nd year student. Chemistry.jpg                               Best 3rd year student. Chemistry.jpg

Dr R Meyer (Shimadzu), Mr Kgopotso Moshohli Mashaphu,  Prof A Strydom                            Prof H Kinfe, Miss Tafadzwa Precious Mabate, Prof A Strydom      

Best honours student. Chemistry.jpg                               

Mr R Lange (AECI), Miss Semakaleng Lydia Bewana, Prof A Strydom                                       Prof A Muller, Mr Kah William Chu, Prof A Strydom