Skip Navigation LinksDr-Claudia-Gastrow Dr Claudia Gastrow


Dr Claudia Gastrow



Dr Claudia Gastrow

Lecturer, Department of Anthropology and Development Studies

(PhD, University of Chicago, 2014)

 

Email: cgastrow@uj.ac.za

I am a socio-cultural anthropologist with research interests in urban studies, Central and Southern Africa, material culture, anthropology of the state and citizenship, postcolonial theory, and the anthropology of capitalism. I am currently working on a manuscript provisionally entitled Aesthetic Citizenship: Building Post-Conflict Luanda which explores how urban aesthetics became the medium through which understandings and practices of urban citizenship and belonging were negotiated in Angola’s capital city during the country’s post-conflict reconstruction period.

Publications

Articles:

2016.  Aesthetic Dissent: Urban Redevelopment and Political Belonging in Luanda, Angola. Antipode. Forthcoming.

2015. Thinking Futures through the Slum. The Avery Review. September. Issue 9. http://www.averyreview.com/issues/9/thinking-futures

2014 “ Vamos Construir ! “ : Revendications Foncières Et Géographie Du Pouvoir À Luanda, Angola” Politique Africaine. No 132: 49 – 72.

Public Anthropology

2016 Design and Temporality: Integration. Cultural Anthropology. http://culanth.org/fieldsights/909-design-and-temporality-integration  27 June.

2013 Concrete Politics.  2 January. Urban Africa http://urbanafrica.net/news/2013/01/02/concrete-politics

Zango: Plans Unravel. 11 January. Urban Africa. http://urbanafrica.net/news/2013/01/11/zango-plans-unravel

2012 China and the expansion of Luanda. 27 September. Urban Africa http://imap.urbanafrica.net/news/2012/09/27/china-and-expansion-luanda

  

Commentary and Analysis

2016 Dos Santos maintains the status quo while suggesting change in Angola. The Conversation. 29 March. https://theconversation.com/dos-santos-maintains-the-status-quo-while-suggesting-change-in-angola-56883

2015 Why the residents of Luanda are asking: Where did all the riches go? The Conversation. 29 October. https://theconversation.com/why-luandas-residents-are-asking-where-did-all-the-oil-riches-go-49772

2013. The Increasingly Shaky Edifice of Luanda. 8 November. Africa Is a Country. http://africasacountry.com/author/claudia-gastrow/            

2012. Angolan Elections 2012: Beer and Circuses no Longer Enough. 30 August. African Arguments. http://africanarguments.org/2012/08/30/angolan-elections-2012-beer-and-circuses-no-longer-enough-by-claudia-gastrow/