Permanent Academic Staff

NameTelephone NumberOffice NumberRoleCampus
Mr. Gordon Froud​+27(0)11 559 1116116, FADA BuildingSenior Lecturer and HoDBunting Road Campus
Prof.​ ​Kim Berman+27(0)11 559 1112130, FADA BuildingProfessorBunting Road Campus
Prof. David Paton+27(0)11 559 1118128, FADA BuildingAssociate ProfessorBunting Road Campus
Prof. Alison Kearney+27(0)11 559 1113119, FADA BuildingAssociate ProfessorBunting Road Campus
Dr. Ruth Sacks+27(0)11 559 1705125, FADA BuildingLecturerBunting Road Campus
Ms. Shonisani Netshia+27(0)11 559 1388125, FADA BuildingLecturerBunting Road Campus
Mr. Sachin Narain+27(0)11 559 1097183, FADA BuildingLecturerBunting Road Campus
Prof. Karen von Veh+27(0)11 559 1117Emeritus ProfessorBunting Road Campus
Prof. Leora Farber+27(0)11 559 1393120, FADA Building​Director: Research Centre, Visual Identities in Art and Design (VIAD)Bunting Road Campus
Kamal Narendra Naran+27(0)11 559 11171st floor, FADA Building​LecturerBunting Road Campus

Contract Academic Staff

Minnette Vari
Studio Practice

Minnette Vari

Karin Basel
Art History & Theory

Karin Basel

Ms Diane Victor
Drawing & Printmaking

Diane Victor 2

Administrative & Technical Staff

Ms Sibongile Elda Majola
Ms Sibongile Elda Majola

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 1117
Inter-Departmental​ Administrator
Room 132, FADA Building,
Bunting Road Campus

Mr Linda Sigwasa
Mr Linda Sigwasa

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 1667
Technical Assistant
FADA Building,
Bunting Road Campus

Visiting Artists & Academics

The Department runs an exciting Wednesday Seminar Series every second week of each term. Among the great number of visiting experts and artists who speak at these and other Departmental and Faculty seminars and conferences, many have proven hugely important to the staffs’ and students’ thinking, research and artistic output. The following visitors have provided particularly memorable and valuable input, some over a sustained period of time:

Since 2017:

  • Paul Emmanuel – Artist
  • Prof. Pam Allara – Emeritus Professor, Brandeis University, Boston, MA, USA
  • Prof. Robbin Ami Silverberg. Associate Professor, Prat Institute, NY and Director of Dobbin Mill and Dobbin Books, New York City, NY, USA

Booknesses Book Arts Exhibitions and Colloquium (May 2017)

  • Dr. Sarah Bodman. Senior Research Fellow, Center for Fine Print Research (CFPR), University of the West of England (UWE), Bristol, UK
  • Prof. Robbin Ami Silverberg. Associate Professor, Prat Institute, NY and Director of Dobbin Mill and Dobbin Books, New York City, NY, USA
  • Prof. Buzz Spector. Professor of Art. Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, Washington University in St. Louis, MO, USA
  • Susan Gosin. Master Printmaker and Founder & Co-Chair, Dieu Donné Papermill, New York City, NY, USA
  • Inge Bruggeman. Asst. Professor, Art Department, University of Nevada, Reno. Director, Black Rock Press and Journal Editor of Openings: Studies in Book Art the journal of the College Book Art Association (CBAA), USA
  • Dr. Katja Gentric. Chercheur Associé Centre Georges Chevrier, Dijon, FRA and Post-doctoral Fellow University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, ZA
  • Eliza Kentridge. Poet, paper and bookmaker and author, UK
  • Dr. Anne Thurmann-Jajes. Head, Centre for Artists’ Publications at the Westerburg, Museum of Modern Art, Bremen, GER
  • Mary Austin. Co-founder and Board Chair of San Francisco Center for the Book (SFCB), San Francisco, USA
  • Elizabeth James. Senior Librarian, National Art Library Collections, Victoria and Albert Museum, London, UK
  • Prof. Mary Hark. Professor in the Design Studies Department, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Paul van Capelleveen. Curator Special Collections (modern printed works), Koninklijke Bibliotheek, National Library of the Netherlands, The Hague, NED
  • Gillian Robinson. Emeritus reader at Anglia Ruskin University, University of London, UK
  • Janet Stanley. Senior Librarian and curator, Smithsonian Libraries, Washington, DC, USA
  • Tricia Treacy. Assistant Professor of Graphic Design at Appalachian State University in Boone, NC, USA

International Visitors (1997 – 2016)

  • Robbin​ Silverberg ​- Pratt Institute & Dobbin Mill, New York​ – Master Papermaker and Book artist
  • Prof. Gail Deery – Harvard University & Maryland Institute College of Art, Baltimore – Printmaking, Papermaking and Book Arts
  • Asao Shimura – Japan / Philippines – Master Papermaker
  • Veerle Rooms​ – Karel de Grote Hogeschool, Antwerpen – Master Printmaker
  • Susan Gosin – Founder & Co-Chair, Dieu Donné Papermill, New York – Master Printmaker
  • Prof. Pam Allara – Brandeis University, Boston – Fulbright Scholar
  • Peter Scott – School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston – Printmaker
  • Rhoda Rosenburg – School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston – Printmaker
  • Prof. Mieke Bal – Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences – Cultural theorist, critic & video artist
  • Prof. Julie Ellison – University of Michigan, Ann Arbor – Professor of American Culture and English
  • Dr. Mark Creekmore – University of Michigan, Ann Arbor – Policy practitioner, social welfare policy and practice
  • Jane Hassinger – University of Michigan, Ann Arbor – Women’s Studies and Social Work
  • Lee-Scott Mac Donald – Boston – Hollander beater maker and papermaking equipment designer
  • Anne Q McKeown – Rutgers University – Printmaking and handmade paper
  • Dr. Nathaniel Stern – University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee – Fulbright Scholar
  • Prof. Nicholas Mirzoeff – New York University – Public Lecture: The right to Look: A counterhistory of Visuality
  • Prof. John Peffer​ – Ramapo College, New York​ – Fulbright Scholar & President of ACASA
  • Michelle Samour – The School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston (SMFA) – Papermaking and paper sculpture

Past Staff & HoDs

Past Staff

Past Heads of the School / Department have served (under various titles) during different formations of the Department known as:

  • ​The Department of Visual Art (DoVA) – in 2004 within Technikon Witwatersrand (TWR) and since 2005 within the University of Johannesburg (UJ)
  • The Department of Fine Art – within the Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture (FADA), TWR between 1997 & 2004
  • The School of Art and Design (SA&D), then the Department of Art and Design (DA&D) and later, the Fine Art​ Department in the Faculty of Art and Design (FA&D) within TWR between 1976 &1996
  • The College of Art, Johannesburg – within the Witwatersrand Technical College​ (WTC) between the late 1960s & 1976
  • The School of Art, Johannesburg – in its independent years between 1963 &1968
  • The School of Arts and Crafts – as part of the Witwatersrand Technical College​ (WTC) from 1926 to 1962.

They are:

  • Prof. Karen von Veh (2017 – 2020)
  • Vedant Nanackchand (2010 – 2016)
  • David Paton (2004 – 2009)
  • Jeremy Wafer (2002 – 2003)
  • Marc Edwards (1999 – 2001)
  • Rob McCallum (1996 – 1998)
  • Willem Boshoff (1995 – 1996)
  • Dr. Gregory Kerr (1992 – 1994)
  • Willem Boshoff​ (1987 – 1991)
  • Nico van Rensburg (1983 – 1986)
  • Ronnie Philip (1972 – 1982: HoS)
  • Claude van Lingen (1971 – 1978: HoD)
  • Phil Botha (1962 – 1971)
  • Prof. Robert Bain (1956 – 1961)
  • Major James Gardner (1933 – 1955)
  • F W Armstrong (1929 – 1932)
  • Austin Winter Moore (1926 – 1928)​

Past members of the Academic Staff (since c1970) include:​

  • Prof Karen von Veh
  • Vedant Nanackchand
  • Marialda Marais
  • Marc Edwards
  • Andrew Munnik
  • Sipho Mdanda
  • Moleleki Frank Ledimo
  • Johann van der Schijff​
  • Bonita Alice
  • Willem Boshoff
  • Philippa Hobbs
  • Piet Viviers
  • Phil Botha
  • Piet Coetzee
  • Garth Blake
  • Desmond Laubscher
  • Claude van Lingen
  • Nico van Rensburg
  • Noel Bissiker
  • Liz Vels
  • Johann Moolman
  • Anton Uys
  • Malcolm Payne
  • Jo Smail
  • Joyce Leonard
  • George Boys
  • John Edwards
  • Phil Kolbe
  • Wim Blom
  • Douglas Portway