Service Learning (SL)




​​Service Learning (SL)​

Service learning (SL) and work integrated learning (WIL) are acknowledged as forms of experiential education. Service learning has become a more common component in higher education in South Africa.  

The aims of service learning may be briefly stated as engendering a sense of civic responsibility in students prior to their entering the world of employment.  SL is, by definition, a mutually beneficial arrangement, during which the community and the students derive benefit. 

SL is a formal component of qualifications and, as such requires that suitable SL placements in community settings are identified.  This necessitates that partnering agreements are concluded, that both the student and community hosts are prepared for the SL and that assessment and feedback occurs.

Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture (FADA)

Faculty SL Coordinator: Dr Christo Vosloo – cvosloo@uj.ac.za

  •    Fine Art
  •    Jewellery Design and Ceramics

Faculty of Education

Faculty SL Coordinator: Ms Memoona Mahomed – mmahomed@uj.ac.za

   •     BEd, Honours and Master's degrees

Faculty of Health Sciences - 

Faculty SL Coordinator: Ms Sadi Seyama –sseyama@uj.ac.za

  • Biomedical Technology
  • Chiropractic​
  • Emergency Medical Care
  • Homeopathy
  • Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences
  • Nursing  
  • Optometry                 
  • Podiatry
  • Somatology
  • Sport and Movement Studies

Faculty of Humanities

Faculty SL Coordinator: Ms Rene Benecke – rbenecke@uj.ac.za

  • Psychology
  • Public Relations and Communication
  • Strategic Communications

Faculty of Law

Faculty SL Coordinator: Mr Eddie Hanekom – ejhanekom@uj.ac.za

   •     LLB - serving in the UJ Law Clinics on Doornfontein, Kingsway, Soweto Campuses


Faculty of Management
 

Faculty SL Coordinator: Prof Jane Spowart – jspowart@uj.ac.za

  • Business Management
  • Hospitality Management