Town and Regional Planning

The Department of Town and Regional Planning is one of the 13 Departments within the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment at University of Johannesburg. The department forms part of the cluster of School of Civil Engineering and the Built Environment located in the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment. The department is one of the 11 planning institutions of South Africa offering programmes in town and regional planning. The University of Johannesburg is a member of the Association of African Planning Schools (AAPS) consisting of 50 planning institutions of Africa. The department is uniquely positioned for the benefit of students with its staff having multidisciplinary planning expertise both at national and international level in terms of planning qualifications, project and research experience, and professional memberships / international linkages.

The department offers programmes in National Diploma and B.Tech in Town and Regional Planning.  The National Diploma in Town and Regional Planning was first offered by the erstwhile Technikon Witwatersrand (TWR) in 1989. The first intake of students for the National Diploma Town and Regional Planning was in 1989, with the first Diplomats graduating in 1991. The B.Tech Town and Regional Planning had its first intake of students in 1996 with the first Graduates graduating in 1998. With the merger of the Rand Afrikaans University (RAU) and Technikon Witwatersrand (TWR) the Department became part of the University of Johannesburg in 2005. For the year 2012, the department had more than 250 students at National Diploma level and more than 50 students at B.Tech level. 

The students at National Diploma have a unique advantage to undertake practical training of 11 months during their 3rd year of the programme with various planning consulting organizations, municipalities, and other planning agencies. The unique practical exposure brings further opportunities to students to integrate the practical skills along with the academic programme in learning.
Both the programmes offered by the department: National Diploma and B.Tech in Town and Regional Planning are accredited by South African Council for Planners (SACPLAN). The department is in the process of introducing Masters programme in various streams / specializations of Town and Regional Planning, Short Learning Porgramme / e-Learning / CPD programmes as per the industry requirements. After the successful completion of National Diploma and B.Tech programmes, candidates can register with SACPLAN under various membership routes based on their qualification and experience.


 Department Quick Links


 FEBE Programmes

Sign In